comment 0

For the love of bread

20140611-140745-50865433.jpgI discovered that my almost-1-year-old son loves bread. He will drop anything for it, so I do my best to incorporate some into my weekly menu planning.

This is my usual go-to recipe, but I recently discovered Alexandra Cooks sandwich bread recipe. Her recipes always inspire me, so I decided to give it a try after contacting her about an ingredient that I can’t use.

Her recipe calls for nonfat dry milk, but since my son is allergic to dairy, I had to cut it out. She suggested leaving it out completely, so I did, and the end result was just fine!

Below is my edited ingredients list for 1 loaf of bread:

1 cup warm water
1 tablespoons sugar (AK listed sugar or honey)
1 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast or active dry yeast
1 tablespoons soft butter, or vegetable oil (I used oil)
3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (can substitute with 100% white whole wheat or a combination of whole wheat and all-purpose)
1.5 teaspoons salt

If you are making this bread with a mixer, please refer to AK’s instructions.

I made it by hand, so here is what I did:

Place water in a large bowl, add sugar to dissolve, then add yeast and let it bubble (about 10 minutes).

Add salt, oil, then gradually add flour, one cup at a time. Mix well and knead for about 10 minutes or until it forms into a ball and not sticky to the touch. You may need more than 3 cups of flour.

Place the dough ball in a greased bowl, coat evenly, cover with plastic wrap or a tea towel. Let it rise in a draft free area for about 1.5 – 2 hours.

Grease a 8.5 x 4.5 loaf pan. Form the dough ball into a loaf, then place it in the pan to rise another hour.

Before baking, preheat oven to 350, then bake for 30-35 minutes.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

