comment 1

Wontons

As promised, here is the wonton recipe from my childhood. I’ve had several variations of wontons, some made by my mom, some by my grandmothers, but this one is inspired by my aunt. She introduced a new element: celery, and I think it’s genius! As opposed to the traditional bok choy, it’s light and refreshing.

Like I mentioned here, growing up, our family time always involved lots of food, and this dish brings back so many good memories of everyone sitting around, making wontons together, talking over each other and laughing; and the best part, the aroma of sesame oil permeating the air, mmm, I can smell it now. Oh the anticipation of eating… I’m getting hungry as I type!

Let’s call these Shanghai Wontons.

Ingredients:

1 package wonton wraps (50 count)

2 cups celery

2 teaspoons green onions

1/2 pound ground pork

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 tablespoon sesame oil

salt & pepper

wonton ingredients

Steps:

Chop the green onions, set aside. Grind the celery in the food processor for about 30 seconds, or until it’s finely chopped, see pic below for reference. Then, place the celery in a mesh strainer, and squeeze out as much of the liquid as possible. Discard the liquid.

wontons

Combine celery, ground pork, green onions, soy sauce, sesame oil, a dash of salt & pepper, and mix well.

wontons

Now, the wrapping part. Usually, there are instructions on the wonton package you purchase, but hopefully these pictures below will be helpful to you. I always dip my finger in a little bit of water to seal the edges, and then again at the very end as you pinch the two corners together.

wrapping wontons DSC_0515 DSC_0518DSC_0522

I really hope you give these a try! They are not as taunting as you had imagined, right?

Cooking instructions:

Boil a pot of water, cook the wontons until they float to the top, then add a cup of cold water to the pot. Let it come to a boil again, then they are ready.

You can put them in a broth, and eat it like soup, or you can just dip them in a sauce. I’ve also panfried them (after boiling them).

1 Comment so far

  1. Pingback: Keep it Simple | luminositie

Leave a Reply

