comment 0

Shanghai Pan Fried Pork Buns

I love pork buns, or bao zi, or manapua here on Hawaii. I grew up on bao zi; plain, meat fillings, and veggie fillings — I love them all :).

The basic dough recipe is similar to a pizza dough, but it doesn’t require oil, and it uses a little bit of milk.

Ever since I became pregnant, I’ve been craving all these childhood snacks and foods from Shanghai… oh how I wish I can fly back there now! But thankfully, I can at least attempt to make some of them here. So, last night, I found a recipe online and it sounded similar to the one my mom told me over the phone.

I decided to give it a try, and it (the flavors) turned out just fabulous. I definitely need to work on my wrapping techniques, but hey, it tasted great :).

Here is the recipe I used. I did not add the egg in the dough portion and used a 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1, and I took out ginger in the meat filling.

It’s not as daunting of a task as it looks, I promise. I made it last night for dinner, after I got off work, so it’s very do-able.

So, give it a try!

20130305-153045.jpg

20130305-153053.jpg

20130305-153112.jpg

Leave a Reply

