comment 1

Making Gnocchi

The very first time I had gnocchi was at a restaurant called Lana in Charleston, SC. If you are close by or ever visit Charleston, I highly recommend checking it out! The gnocchi I ordered came in this amazing mushroom cream sauce. It was heavenly.

Ever since then, I’ve wanted to try to make my own. So, when I got the Smitten Kitchen cookbook, I was thrilled to find that there is a recipe for gnocchi! Although it is for a specific dish, I only used the gnocchi recipe portion because I wanted to recreate my own mushroom cream sauce :).

Ingredients below are from the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook, pg 117:

2 pounds (905 grams) Russet potatoes (3 or 4)

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon table salt

1 1/4 to 1 2/2 cups (156 to 190 grams) all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting surface

You can go here to find the complete instructions.

I did not use the SK’s tomato broth recipe, so instead, I made my own mushroom cream sauce.

I sauteed some mushrooms in olive oil and butter, sprinkled a little bit of flour to thicken the sauce, then added half and half and some milk. Stirred until I got the consistency I wanted, then I added some Italian blend cheese.

You can see my photos below:

20130129-195305.jpg

20130129-195314.jpg

1 Comment so far

  1. Pingback: Keep it Simple | luminositie

Leave a Reply

