comment 0

Altering recipes

I often alter recipes; in fact, I “make up” just about every meal I cook. I’m the flying-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kinda cook, but so far, I haven’t messed up too badly. Now, baking is another story. I’m just not gifted in that area, I guess :). Does that stop me from changing recipes, even in baking? NO. I haven’t ventured to change too many baking recipes, but I’ll share one that was a “success story.” A few weeks ago, I discovered the Pastry Affair’s blog, and made some delicious Vanilla Pear Muffins for breakfast…well, mine were actually ALMOND pear muffins because I ran out of vanilla extract. So, last week, I decided to try the recipe again, but with a chocolate twist.

Hazelnut Vanilla Chocolate Chip Muffins

Adapted from The Pastry Affair

(makes 12 muffins)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
Pinch of salt
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons hazelnut vanilla spread or nutella
1 cup packed light brown sugar
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In another bowl, mix together the eggs, brown sugar, butter, oil, and applesauce until well combined. Slowly swirl in the hazelnut vanilla spread until well blended. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry until just combined; then add chocolate chips, but do not over stir. Distribute the batter evenly in a greased muffin tin.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until the muffin tops are lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

