comment 1

Scallops!

…try to say it with a British accent :). Every time I say it, I hear Chef Ramsay’s voice…maybe I’ve watched too many Master Chef episodes!

Chef Ramsay did not inspire me to make scallops, but Trader Joe’s coconut oil did! Remember my post about creating a new dish? Well, I’ve been thinking and thinking, and trying to come up with a dish that would be enhanced by using coconut oil rather than olive or some other type of oil. I know I wanted to do seafood, so I thought of scallops! Why? Because it’s perfectly tender and just a hint of sweetness, and the sweet aroma of the coconut oil would bring out the best of flavors… at least that was my theory 🙂

So, here’s what I did. I read about searing scallops, and guess what, I didn’t know that there were “dry” scallops and “wet” scallops. Dry means it’s freshly caught and shucked, and never been soaked in preservatives, and wet, obviously is the opposite. Thankfully, without knowing, I got the “dry” kind, but it was previously frozen. I read that it would be almost impossible to properly sear scallops if they’ve been soaked in preservatives. Even though they were “dry,” they looked wet to me. So, the night before I cooked them, I rinsed them and dried them with paper towels, and put them back in the fridge. The next day, right before I cooked them, I sprinkled salt & pepper to season, put about 2 tablespoons of coconut oil in the pan, and waited till the oil was rippling, then I put the scallops in, maybe about 1 – 1.5 minutes per side. While I was doing that, I made a quick pasta with a lemon cream sauce (a little bit of freshly squeezed lemon juice, about 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream, and parmesan cheese), topped with some peas and bits of pepperonis, lightly tossed in the pan to make them crunchy.

What do you think? We loved it, and the flavors worked beautifully together.

1 Comment so far

  1. This looks very simple yet scrumptious, Y! Can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing this recipe. By the way. I love your new blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

