comments 5

Masala Tea, anyone?

Image from The Kitchn

Also known as Chai tea.

My first introduction to Chai was when I was a guest at someone’s house. My gracious hostess laid out an assortment of tea bags, hot chocolate, and coffee, and that little pouch of Oregan Chai Tea spoke to me =).Β  I loved it as soon as I got a whiff of the sweet and spicy smell.

I became a Chai tea drinker.

I always had a box of the powder kind (Oregan Chai, not TAZO…too spicy for me) in my office when I was in grad school; it came in handy during those late night paper grading sessions (I was an English graduate assistant). I’ve tried it at Starbucks, and it’s ok… my favorite is green chai latte with soy from Liquid Highway, a local coffee shop. I often buy a box of Oregan Chai Tea so I can make it at home (with milk). But, I’m always searching for recipes so I can make it from scratch, and I stumbled across these two recipes that I want to share with you, chai tea, and chai spiced sugar cookie.

Let me know if you decide to try these! And, feel free to share any great chai recipes!

5 Comments

  1. Liz Ingalls

    So yummy! Let’s make some next time you come to visit! Here’s the recipe I use:

    3 cups water
    3 cups milk
    6-8 black tea bags
    1/2 cup honey
    1 tsp ground cinnamon
    1 tsp ground cardamom
    1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
    1/2 tsp ground cloves

    Bring water and milk to a boil. Add other ingredients and return to a
    boil. Turn off heat and let steep for 3-5 minutes. Remove tea bags and
    filter through a strainer (cheesecloth works even better if you have it). Delicious hot or cold.

Leave a Reply

